Hearst Memorial Mining Building
The building, begun in 1902, is completed after an 18-month delay due to the 1906 San Francisco earthquake. Called “the architectural gem of the entire UC system,” Hearst Mining is equipped with small smelters, rock crushers, drill rigs and chemical fume hoods.
The new home for the College of Mining is funded by philanthropist Phoebe Apperson Hearst as a monument to her late husband, U.S. Senator George Hearst. The Beaux Arts building, designed by campus architect John Galen Howard, combines features of classical, Mediterranean and California mission styles, with a grand, three-story lobby crafted to resemble a mine shaft.< Back to previous page