Gerbrand Ceder, Tsu-Jae King Liu and Katherine YelickNew NAE members Gerbrand Ceder, Tsu-Jae King Liu and Katherine Yelick

3 professors named to National Academy of Engineering

February 13, 2017

Three professors from Berkeley Engineering have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering. Their selection brings to 75 the number of active and emeriti professors from the college holding membership in the academy, one of the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

Those named to the academy’s class of 2017 from Berkeley are:

  • Gerbrand Ceder, Chancellor’s Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, who was honored for “the development of practical computational materials design and its application to the improvement of energy storage technology.”
  • Tsu-Jae King Liu, TSMC Distinguished Professor in Microelectronics in the department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and the campus vice provost for academic and space planning. King-Liu was cited for “contributions to the fin field effect transistor (FinFET) and its application to nanometer complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) technology.”
  • Katherine A. Yelick, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, and associate laboratory director, computer science, at Berkeley Lab.  She was honored for “software innovation and leadership in high-performance computing.”

Three other new academy members also have ties to Berkeley Engineering:

  • Andrea Jo Goldsmith (B.S.’86 EngSci, M.S.’91 Ph.D.’94 EECS), professor of electrical engineering at Stanford University, was honored for “contributions to adaptive and multiantenna wireless communications.”
  • Harry Shum, executive VP, technology and research, at Microsoft and a member of Berkeley’s Engineering Advisory Board, was named a foreign member of the NAE. He was cited for “contributions to computer vision and computer graphics, and for leadership in industrial research and product development.”
  • Darlene J.S. Solomon, senior VP  and CTO at Agilent Technologies, is a also member of the advisory board. She was honored for “leadership in the development of innovative nucleic acid and microfluidic products for the life science and molecular diagnostic industries.”

Read the full NAE press release.