Fiona Doyle, Shmuel Oren and David SedlakNew National Academy of Engineering members Fiona Doyle, Shmuel Oren and David Sedlak

New members elected to the National Academy of Engineering

February 8, 2016

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected five Berkeley Engineers, including three current faculty members, among a class of 80 new members.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Newly elected class members will be inducted at a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, DC on October 9, 2016.


Fiona Doyle: Donald H. McLaughlin Professor of Mineral Engineering, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and dean, Graduate Division, UC Berkeley — for contributions to environmentally benign hydrometallurgy leading to separation of metals from solutions, and for engineering education leadership.

Shmuel Oren: Earl J. Isaac Professor in the Science and Analysis of Decision Making, Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, UC Berkeley — for contributions to the integration of decisions and cooperative market mechanisms for adaptive multisource electrical power systems.

David Sedlak: Malozemoff Professor in Mineral Engineering, co-director of the Berkeley Water Center, and director, Institute for Environmental Science and Engineering, UC Berkeley — for contributions to environmental aqueous chemistry, especially in the areas of water reuse, water contaminants and urban water infrastructure.

Alumni and college associates

Paul Jacobs: executive chairman, Qualcomm Inc., San Diego — for leadership in the design, development and worldwide commercialization of wireless products and services.

Kirsi Tikka: president and chief operating officer, ABS Europe Division, American Bureau of Shipping, London — for contributions leading to internationally recognized standards for ship structural design, construction and maritime safety.