Honors & awards

2 professors among the "7 over 70"

11/1/2016 A companion to Tech Review's annual 35 Innovators Under 35 list features a list of seven innovators over 70. The new list includes electrical engineering and computer sciences (EECS) professor Ruzena Bajcsy and professor emeritus Michael Stonebraker, now at MIT.

Nobel (bike) parking

Sign for Nobel laureate bike parking space

11/1/2016 Reserved parking for Nobel laureates won’t be limited to cars anymore. New, gold-colored bike racks were installed just outside of the Free Speech Café in recognition of Berkeley’s contributions to the 2007 Nobel-prize winning International Panel on Climate Change.

DOE recognizes Berkeley, Jacobs Hall for energy innovations

Jacobs Hall and its rooftop solar panels

10/26/2016 Energy.gov - The Energy Department’s Better Buildings Challenge program on Tuesday recognized UC Berkeley for its leadership in energy efficiency, citing in particular the 65 percent energy savings at Berkeley Engineering's new Jacobs Hall facility.

$1.5 million to study language development, via bats

Michael Yartsev and Egyptian rousette bats

10/26/2016 - Seeking insight into the neurobiological basis of language learning, the New York Stem Cell Foundation has granted a $1.5 million Robertson Neuroscience Investigator award to Michael Yartsev, assistant professor of bioengineering, for his novel studies involving bats.

Women in Tech conference Oct. 5

Photo illustration of woman in technology

9/29/2016 - "Women in Technology: Recognizing Leaders, Inspiring the Next Generation," a daylong symposium on diversity in the tech sector, on Wednesday, Oct. 5 in Banatao Auditorium.

3 from EECS win CITRIS Athena Awards

EECS professors Tsu-Jae King Liu and Claire Tomlin, and alumna Vidya Ganapati

9/29/2016 CITRIS - EECS professors Tsu-Jae King Liu and Claire Tomlin, and alumna Vidya Ganapati (M.S.'12, Ph.D.'15) , are among the inaugural winners of the CITRIS Athena Awards, recognizing the accomplishments of technology leaders and organizations fostering interest in computer science for the next generation of women and girls.

Fiona Doyle wins SME metallurgy award

Fiona Doyle

9/21/2016 - MSE professor Fiona Doyle, dean of the Graduate Division, has been selected by the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration as the 2016 recipient of the Milton E. Wadsworth Award, which recognizes distinguished contributions that advance understanding of the science and technology of non-ferrous chemical metallurgy.