Honors & awards

NAE Class of 2017

Katherine Yelick

5/1/2017 Eight Berkeley Engineering professors, alumni and board members have joined the National Academy of Engineering.

VR innovator Han Jin named to 30 Under 30

Han Jin and other 30 Under 30 honorees

4/25/2017 Inc. - The latest crop of 30 Under 30 young entrepreneurs at Inc. includes Fung Institute alumnus Han Jin (MEng '12 IEOR), co-founder of Lucid VR, which has simplified capturing virtual reality with a mass-market 3-D video camera.

Image alchemist Alexei Efros wins ACM computing prize

Alexei Efros

4/18/2017 ACM - The Association for Computing Machinery has awarded its 2016 Prize in Computing to EECS professor Alexei Efros "for groundbreaking data-driven approaches to computer graphics and computer vision."

Katherine Yelick, 3 alumni named AAAS fellows

Katherine Yelick, Hari Balakrishnan, Paul Jacobs and Andrea Goldsmith

4/12/2017 AAAS - EECS professor Katherine Yelick is one of 228 newly elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation's oldest learned societies. Also honored in the 2017 class are Berkeley Engineering alumni Hari Balakrishnan, Andrea Goldsmith and Paul Jacobs.

X-Trace paper stands the Test of Time

Award presenter Hari Balakrishnan of MIT and honorees Rodrigo Fonseca, George Porter and Ion Stoica

4/3/2017 UCSD - A paper on network tracing, authored a decade ago by five Berkeley Engineering grad students and professors, has won the 2017 NSDI Test of Time Award. Honored for their influential paper were former grad students Rodrigo Fonseca and George Porter (now CS professors at Brown University and UCSD, respectively) and EECS professors Ion Stoica, Randy Katz and Scott Shenker.

Ren Ng wins Sloan 'rising star' fellowship

Ren Ng

2/22/2017 - Ren Ng, an EECS assistant professor developing advanced imaging technologies, is one of five young UC Berkeley faculty members awarded 2017 Sloan Research Fellowships, coveted grants for scientists and scholars at the beginning of their academic careers.

CZ Biohub awards nearly $14.5 million to Berkeley researchers

Dan Fletcher, Amy Herr, Michel Maharbiz, Rikky Muller, Yun Song, Aaron Streets, Laura Waller, Nir Yosef

2/8/2017 - Thirteen UC Berkeley faculty, including 8 from EECS and bioengineering, are among 47 new investigators chosen by the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub to receive up to $1.5 million each over the next five years to conduct cutting-edge biomedical research — with no strings attached.