Honors & awards

Herr, Shenker win Berkeley Visionary awards

Award winners Mike Alvarez Cohen, Amy Herr and Scott Shenker

9/11/2017 SF Business Times - Bioengineering professor Amy Herr and EECS professor Scott Shenker are inaugural winners of the Berkeley Visionary Awards, an honor created by the Berkeley Chamber of Commerce to recognize innovative leaders in the city whose work is creating an economic impact.

Defending the Internet from spear fishing

Internet Defense Prize winning team

8/23/2017 - At the USENIX Security Conference in Vancouver this month, a team of computer science researchers from Berkeley Engineering won the 2017 Internet Defense Prize — and a $100,000 award — for their new approach to detecting credential spear phishing attacks.

Introducing the Hallac Scholars

8/21/2017 - Berkeley Engineering sophomores Alex Montanez and Miriam Almaraz are part of the inaugural class of Hallac Scholars — a program sponsored by the global asset management firm BlackRock that’s a combined scholarship, mentorship and internship all rolled into one. The goal of the new program is to teach engineers how to develop innovative tech for delivering financial services.

Ensuring that robots and humans work and play well together

Anca Dragan

8/17/2017 MIT Tech Review - EECS assistant professor Anca Dragan is working to distill complicated or vague human behavior into simple mathematical models that robots can understand. Her visionary work has landed her a spot on MIT Tech Review's 35 Innovators Under 35 list.

Ana Claudia Arias wins FLEXI R&D award

Ana Claidia Arias with a flexible medical sensor

6/22/2017 SEMI - EECS associate professor Ana Claudia Arias has won the 2017 FLEXI R&D Achievement award for her development of flexible medical sensors and printed flexible devices.

BioE's Yartsev wins young faculty award

Michael Yartsev

5/17/2017 - Bioengineering assistant professor Michael Yartsev has been named a 2017 McKnight Scholar, an award honoring the best young neuroscience faculty in the country.

Rikky Muller wins early career professor award

Rikky Muller

5/8/2017 Keysight - EECS assistant professor Rikky Muller has been selected to receive the 2017 Keysight Early Career Professor Award for her work in advanced integrated circuits for implantable and wearable medical devices.

Malik honored for pioneering computer vision work

Jitendra Malik

5/3/2017 ACM - EECS chair and professor Jitendra Malik has won the 2016 ACM - AAAI Allen Newell Award "for seminal contributions to computer vision that have led the field in image segmentation and object category recognition."

Angel investors honor Magnetic Insights as innovative startup

Magnetic Insight logo

5/3/2017 - Bioengineering startup Magnetic Insight, founded by Patrick Goodwill (Ph.D.'10 BioE) and professor Steven Conolly, was selected by the Angel Capital Association for its 2017 Luis Villalobos Award for ingenuity, creativity, and innovation among startups.

NAE Class of 2017

Katherine Yelick

5/1/2017 Eight Berkeley Engineering professors, alumni and board members have joined the National Academy of Engineering.