Honors & awards

John DeNero honored for distinguished teaching

John DeNero

3/19/2018 - EECS professor John DeNero has been named a winner of Berkeley's Distinguished Teaching Award, one of the university’s highest honors. DeNero uses technology and teaching assistants to scale popular computer and data science courses without losing academic rigor. His work was recently featured in Berkeley Engineer magazine.

$10 million award for RISELab’s AI research

Ion Stoica with members of the RISELab team

2/27/2018 - Berkeley’s RISELab, led by EECS professor Ion Stoica, has received an Expeditions in Computing award from the National Science Foundation, providing $10 million in funding over five years to enable game-changing advances in real-time decision making technologies.

Prometheus Group honored for lab safety

Award winners Lane Martin and Arvind Dasgupta with EH&S Director Patrick Goff and Vice Chancellor for Research Randy Katz

2/23/2018 - The Prometheus Group, headed by materials science and engineering professor Lane Martin, has won UC Berkeley’s grand prize for lab safety for the team's commitment to safe practices in their work on functional complex-oxide thin-film materials.

2 young EECS faculty among new Sloan Research Fellows

Anca Dragan and Raluca Ada Popa

2/15/2018 - EECS assistant professors Anca Dragan and Raluca Ada Popa are among six young Berkeley faculty members named as 2018 Sloan Research Fellows. The selections “honor early-career scholars whose achievements mark them as among the very best scientific minds working today.”

Edward Lee of EECS awarded Berkeley Citation

Berkeley Citation presented to Edward Lee

2/9/2018 - Former EECS Chair and currently Professor in the Graduate School Edward Lee was presented with the prestigious Berkeley Citation on Thursday for his distinguished contributions to UC Berkeley.

EECS professor Chang-Hasnain named to NAE

2/7/2018 - EECS professor Constance Chang-Hasnain is among 83 new members elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Two alumni also were elected to the academy.

Honors for three Berkeley Engineering faculty

Grace O'Connell, Laura Wall, Avideh Zakhor

2/6/2018 - Three members of the Berkeley Engineering faculty — Grace O'Connell from mechanical engineering and Laura Waller and Avideh Zakhor from EECS — have recently received awards from scientific societies honoring their contributions to research and innovation in their fields.

NAS honors Prasad Raghavendra for computer science work

Prasad Raghavendra

1/17/2018 - Prasad Raghavendra, an EECS associate professor, was honored by the National Academy of Sciences for his revolutionary research in computer science, sharing the inaugural $100,000 Michael and Sheila Held Prize with David Steurer of ETH Zurich.

Drone pioneer Warren Hoburg named Innovator of the Year

Warren Hoburg with the Jungle Hawk Owl drone

12/20/2017 R&D - Aerospace engineer and astronaut candidate Warren "Woody" Hoburg (M.S.'11, Ph.D.'13 EECS) has been named Innovator of the Year by R&D Magazine for his pioneering work creating the Jungle Hawk Owl extended-flight drone.