Honors & awards

A.M. Turing Award lecture to be livestreamed

John Hennessy and David Patterson, circa 1991

5/29/2018 HPC Wire - EECS professor emeritus David A. Patterson and former Stanford president John L. Hennessy, who received the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award for pioneering a systematic, quantitative approach to the design and evaluation of computer architectures, will jointly present the Turing Award Lecture on June 4 at the International Symposium of Computer Architecture in Los Angeles. The Turing Award lecture is open to the public and will be livestreamed .

Now and forever Berkeley Engineers

Masters degree candidates at Commencement

5/16/2018 - The 2018 Berkeley Engineering commencement ceremonies were filled with celebration, words of inspiration, and a Berkeley Citation for departing Dean Shankar Sastry. Relive the ceremonies in video and photos.

Berkeley water engineer lands 2018 'Slammy'

Joseph Charbonnet and his Grad Slam presentation

5/4/2018 Graduate Division - At the UC-wide Grad Slam competition on May 3, environmental engineering doctoral student Joseph Charbonnet brought home the first-place ‘Slammy’ — and $9,000 in prize money — for his three-minute talk on using manganese-coated sand to capture, clean and re-use stormwater.

Vazirani elected to National Academy of Sciences

Umesh Vazirani

5/1/2018 - Umesh Vazirani, the Roger A. Strauch Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, is one of five Berkeley faculty members newly named to the National Academy of Sciences.

Berkeley engineers among new faculty elected to AAAS

Eric Brewer and James Demmel

4/18/2018 - Berkeley Engineering faculty members Eric Brewer and James Demmel are among nine UC Berkeley researchers elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a society founded in 1780 to honor exceptional scholars, scientists, artists and innovators from around the world.

Patterson wins Turing Award

David Patterson

3/21/2018 - Berkeley computing pioneer David Patterson has won the A.M. Turing Award, considered the Nobel prize of computing, for his work on reduced instruction set computer microprocessors. The award, announced Wednesday by the Association for Computing Machinery, comes with a $1 million prize, which Patterson will share with co-winner John Hennessy.

John DeNero honored for distinguished teaching

John DeNero

3/19/2018 - EECS professor John DeNero has been named a winner of Berkeley's Distinguished Teaching Award, one of the university’s highest honors. DeNero uses technology and teaching assistants to scale popular computer and data science courses without losing academic rigor. His work was recently featured in Berkeley Engineer magazine.

$10 million award for RISELab’s AI research

Ion Stoica with members of the RISELab team

2/27/2018 - Berkeley’s RISELab, led by EECS professor Ion Stoica, has received an Expeditions in Computing award from the National Science Foundation, providing $10 million in funding over five years to enable game-changing advances in real-time decision making technologies.

Prometheus Group honored for lab safety

Award winners Lane Martin and Arvind Dasgupta with EH&S Director Patrick Goff and Vice Chancellor for Research Randy Katz

2/23/2018 - The Prometheus Group, headed by materials science and engineering professor Lane Martin, has won UC Berkeley’s grand prize for lab safety for the team's commitment to safe practices in their work on functional complex-oxide thin-film materials.