Honors & awards

UC Berkeley Computer Science announces 2011 Siebel Scholars

9/17/2010 Siebel Foundation - Computer Science graduate students David Wong and Jerry Zhang are recipients of the Siebel Scholarship for the Class of 2011. Both are enrolled in the 5th Year Master's Degree program. The Siebel Scholars Program was established by the Siebel Foundation to recognize the most talented students at the world's leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering.

A 4.00 at Berkeley Engineering? Meet Reid Zimmerman

8/9/2010 - Of the 4,767 seniors who graduated this spring from UC Berkeley, 25 of them earned an A in every class, a perfect GPA. Reid Zimmerman is one of them. That record, along with a portfolio of outstanding leadership, character and extracurricular involvement, helped catapult the civil and environmental engineering graduate into the final round of consideration for this year’s University Medal, UC Berkeley’s most distinguished honor given to a graduating senior.

Marvell Technology's mobile connector

7/30/2010 Forbes.com - Marvell's Weili Dai takes her place on Forbes' list of entrepreneurs, innovators and businesspeople who left home and made their mark in the U.S. Dai arrived in Silicon Valley from China at age 17 in 1978, coming of age at the same time as the U.S. tech hub. She moved in with her grandparents before going on to study at the University of California at Berkeley. Today Marvell Technology, the semiconductor design company she went on to cofound 15 years ago with her Indonesian-Chinese husband and his brother, employs 5,000 worldwide and trades on the Nasdaq with an $11 billion market cap. The trio donated the funds for a building named after them at Berkeley

Carey is winner of 2010 HP Innovation Research Program Award

6/7/2010 - Professor Van P. Carey of UC Berkeley's Mechanical Engineering Department is among a select group of professors worldwide that have been selected to receive awards as part of Hewlett Packard's 2010 Innovation Research Program. The award will provide $100K for the 2010-2011 academic year in support of Carey's research. The project led by Professor Carey teams him with HP's Sustainable IT Ecosystem Lab in an effort to develop compact and accurate models of the energy use in data centers.

Pisano awarded Columbia University 2009 Egleston Medal for Distinguished Engineering Achievement

6/3/2010 - Albert P. Pisano, Professor and Department Chair of Mechanical Engineering and currently serving as Acting Dean of the College of Engineering at Berkeley, has been unanimously elected to receive Columbia University's 2009 Egleston Medal for Distinguished Engineering Achievement. Pisano was elected to receive the award for his "extraordinary pioneering work in the field of micro-electromechanical systems."

Team of Berkeley Engineering undergraduate women reaches finals in Staples green office product competition

3/31/2010 Yahoo Finance News - Taking environmental consciousness to a global level, Staples, Inc., the world's largest office products company, today announced the universities with finalist concepts for the inaugural Staples Global EcoEasy Challenge. Four mechanical engineering undergraduates from UC Berkeley, all women, represent the only U.S. team that has reached the finals. Cynthia Bayley, Griselda Cardona, Maha Haji, and Sarah Stern, calling their team the Explosi-Divas, have designed the EcoStapler

Sastry receives Chang-Lin Tien Education Leadership Award

3/17/2010 Asian Pacific Fund - On Tuesday, March 16, the Asian Pacific Fund presented S. Shankar Sastry, UC Berkeley Dean of Engineering, with the Chang-Lin Tien Education Leadership Award. The award recognizes the leadership qualities and scholarly accomplishments of Asian Americans working in higher education. "I very much celebrate and draw on my Asian heritage in my work," said Sastry in accepting the award. "This foundation provides me with an appreciation for patience, civility and respect for the contributions of my elders."

Berkeley prof helped divvy up search to many servers

3/15/2010 Wall Street Journal - A connection to the University of California at Berkeley - and a lengthy record for innovations - seem to be winning attributes in this year's big computing prizes. Eric Brewer and Charles Thacker have both.

Turing Award, the 'Nobel of Computing,' goes to Berkeley alum

3/9/2010 ACM - UC Berkeley alumnus and Microsoft Corporation researcher Charles Thacker has won the $250,000 Turing Award, one of technology's most coveted prizes, for his work helping design and build what is widely considered the first modern personal computer. Thacker said he would probably donate the money to his alma mater.

Grigoropoulos awarded continuation funding by DARPA

2/25/2010 UC Berkeley Mechanical Engineering Department - Continuation funding over the next three years, bringing the total to $5M, has been awarded by DARPA to Professor Costas Grigoropoulos of the Mechanical Engineering Department for research on "Nanofabrication by Tips coupled with Lasers."