Honors & awards

2013 Siebel Scholars announced

9/10/2012 Siebel Foundation - Nine Berkeley Engineering graduate students have been named 2013 Siebel Scholars. This year’s cohort of 85 graduate students in the nation’s leading business, bioengineering and computer science programs join a group of almost 800 in the program, which fosters leadership and academic achievement. Honorees receive $35,000 to complete their final year of study. Congratulations to this year's winners: In Bioengineering: Lukasz Jan Bugaj, Laura Rose Croft, Timothy Lamont Downing, Alex James Hughes and Debkishore Mitra; and in EECS: Yunlong Li, Antonio Lupher, Brandon Wang and Wei Wu.

Fox named academic director of online-education center

8/31/2012 - Professor Armando Fox has been appointed to serve as academic director of the Berkeley Resource Center for Online Education, a new unit dedicated to supporting online-education initiatives and research. Working under the guidance of the Online Education Steering Committee, Fox will collaborate with BRCOE’s executive director, Diana Wu, to build an infrastructure to support the campus’s numerous and varied online-education initiatives — from offerings for the public good to professional certificate programs.

NSF awards $2 million to develop flexible bioelectronics systems

8/30/2012 - The National Science Foundation has awarded $2 million over four years for a UC Berkeley project to develop flexible bioelectronics systems. The research would support the development of electronic materials that could not only be implanted into the body for medical applications such as wound healing, but that could also be safely resorbed into the body.

$2.5 million grant to improve traffic safety

8/24/2012 ITS - California’s Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) has awarded nearly $2.5 million in grants to two research and education centers affiliated with the Institute of Transportation Studies to improve safety for pedestrians, bicyclists, motorcyclists, and drivers. The Safe Transportation Research & Education Center (SafeTREC) and the Technology Transfer Program (Tech Transfer) will use the funds to study better ways to prevent crashes and to help local agencies identify potentially hazardous surface roadway conditions.

Bioengineers get NIH award for on-chip models of human heart and liver

7/24/2012 NCATS - Bioengineering professors Kevin Healy (pictured) and Luke Lee and collaborators have been awarded a two-year, $1.7 million boost to develop on-chip models of living human heart and liver tissue from the NIH. The grant is part of the Tissue Chip for Drug Screening program, an initiative to help predict the safety of drugs more quickly and cost-effectively, and thereby speed the development of effective therapeutics.

UC Berkeley leads nation in tech CEO graduates

7/5/2012 Network World - The University of California at Berkeley is the number one university for producing U.S. tech industry CEOs. Graduates include Paul Jacobs, CEO and chairman of Qualcomm, who holds three degrees from Berkeley: bachelor's, master's and doctorate degrees in electrical engineering. Another graduate of Berkeley is Paul Otellini, CEO and president of Intel, who holds an MBA from the Haas School of Business, as does Shantanu Narayan, CEO and president of Adobe.

American Bureau of Shipping endows ocean engineering chair

7/5/2012 MarineLink.com - Professor Ronald W. Yeung has received the inaugural appointment to a new chair endowed by the American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) in ocean engineering, which is within the department of mechanical engineering. “We believe that encouraging students in engineering is crucial to the future of the industry,” says ABS President and CEO Christopher J. Wiernicki. “We are convinced the caliber of people in leadership roles at universities like UC Berkeley is one of the keys to ensuring these institutions continue to produce the quality engineers who will develop technologies that will determine the future of the industry.”

UC Berkeley Nuclear Engineering Department receives American Nuclear Society Presidential Citation

6/21/2012 Virtual Strategy - The UC Berkeley Nuclear Engineering Department has been awarded an American Nuclear Society Presidential Citation for serving at the leading edge of communication to educate California and the nation about radiological impact to the U.S. from the Fukushima incident. "The efforts by UC-Berkeley Nuclear Engineering faculty and students to provide accurate and authoritative information to the public following Fukushima were outstanding and serve as a model to emulate," said ANS President Eric Loewen.

Bioengineering professor Amy Herr receives 2012 Young Innovator Award from Analytical Chemistry

6/15/2012 American Chemical Society - Dr. Amy E. Herr of UC Berkeley is the recipient of the Analytical Chemistry 2012 Young Innovator Award, recognizing the contributions of an individual who has demonstrated exceptional technical advancement and innovation in the field of micro- or nanofluidics in his or her early career. Dr. Herr's research interests include use of scale-dependent phenomena to develop new tools for quantifying biomolecules in complex biological fluids.

UC Berkeley announces 2012 Bergeron Scholars

6/12/2012 Wall Street Journal Market Watch - UC Berkeley has announced the 2012 Bergeron Scholars. This year's Scholars are the first women to benefit from the program funded by Sandra and Douglas Bergeron in Fall 2011. The Berkeley Bergeron Scholars Program provides scholarships, program support and mentorships to five undergraduate women each year pursuing careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.