Honors & awards

EECS alumni Micali and Goldwasser win Turing Award

3/18/2013 Association for Computing Machinery - Ph.D. EECS alumni Silvio Micali and Shafi Goldwasser have been named winners of the ACM Turing Award, considered the Nobel Prize of computer science. The two, both now computer science professors at MIT, pioneered the field of provable security, which laid the mathematical foundations that made modern cryptography possible.

Berkeley Engineering ranks among top 3 graduate schools

3/13/2013 U.S. News & World Report - Along with MIT and Stanford, Berkeley Engineering is once again ranked among the top three schools for graduate study, according to the Best Graduate Schools 2014 guidebook from U.S. News & World Report. All departmental programs earned spots in the top 10, with No. 1 rankings going to computer science and environmental engineering.

Assembly honors Weili Dai for 'Breaking the Glass Ceiling'

3/5/2013 Sacramento Business Journal - Marvell co-founder Weili Dai, B.S. ’84 CS, was one of 11 remarkable California women honored Monday by the state assembly's Legislative Women's Caucus with a "Breaking the Glass Ceiling" award, saluting her work as an entrepreneur and technology pioneer.

Former dean David Hodges honored by Silicon Valley engineers

2/22/2013 Silicon Valley Engineering Council - David Hodges, professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer sciences and former dean of the College of Engineering, was one of four eminent technologists inducted into the Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame at this week's SVEC Engineers Week banquet.

SkyDeck wins Catalyst Award

2/15/2013 Haas Newsroom - SkyDeck, the UC Berkeley startup accelerator in downtown Berkeley, won the Catalyst Award at the first-ever East Bay Innovation Awards celebration. The year-old SkyDeck is a collaboration between the College of Engineering, the Haas School of Business, and the Vice Chancellor for Research Office.

Berkeley students make finals for Disney design competition

1/30/2013 Daily Californian - A trio of UC Berkeley students, including Kathryn Moore from Mechanical Engineering and Andrew Lin from Bioengineering, have made it to the finals of a national Disney-sponsored design competition with their plan for SAMM-E, a robot-turned-food-truck.

EECS team to lead $27.5 million TerraSwarm Research Center

1/17/2013 TerraSwarm - A nine-university team led by researchers in Berkeley's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences has been awarded $27.5 million over five years to spearhead the new TerraSwarm Research Center, which will address the huge potential — and risks — of the pervasive integration of smart, networked sensors connecting our world.

Physicist Art Rosenfeld to receive National Medal of Technology & Innovation

1/3/2013 Berkeley Lab - President Barack Obama has named UC Berkeley and LBNL physicist Arthur Rosenfeld one of this year’s 11 recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. Rosenfeld is often called the “godfather of energy efficiency” because of his pioneering work on reducing the nation’s energy usage.

Alumni and corporate partners say thank you to Berkeley

10/16/2012 Graduate Division - VMware could have honored software architect Michael Nelson (B.A.’83 CS, Ph.D.’88 EECS) with a gold watch and a handshake for his groundbreaking contributions to cloud technology. Instead, the firm endowed an $800,000 fellowship at Berkeley. In all, the Graduate Fellowships Matching Program has set up more than 60 funds campuswide – 13 of them in the College of Engineering alone.