Honors & awards

Elena Kassianidou wins HHMI Fellowship

8/14/2013 - BioE graduate student Elena Kassianidou has been awarded an International Predoctoral Fellowship from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Kassianidou, from Cyprus, is pursuing her dissertation in Berkeley bioengineering professor Sanjay Kumar’s lab.

Yablonovitch elected to membership in Royal Society

6/19/2013 Royal Society - Eli Yablonovitch, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, is one of two Berkeley scientists elected as 2013 foreign members of the United Kingdom's distinguished Royal Society, a fellowship of eminent scientists, engineers and technologists.

Student hacker wins award for wearing a 'white hat'

6/19/2013 Los Angeles Times - Berkeley computer science junior Skyler Rojas has been awarded $2000 by the Information Systems Security Association at the Cornerstones of Trust conference for choosing a career in cybersecurity. Rojas, who is interning this summer at Symantec, says his dream job would be "penetration tester" — someone who works from the inside to find network vulnerabilities.

Cal EECS professor receives prestigious international award

6/13/2013 Contra Costa Times - Electrical engineering and computer science professor Eli Yablonovitch is one of two recipients of the 2012 Harvey Prize, a prestigious international award for his "pioneering discoveries in photonics, optoelectronics, and semiconductors."


5/13/2013 - Graduating senior Daniel A. Price, a double major in bioengineering and electrical engineering and computer sciences with a minor in physics, was selected as one of this year’s Rhodes Scholars. Next fall at Oxford University, Price will pursue research in medical diagnostic equipment. Here he tells us more about his studies, his research and future plans.

Q+A: Oxford-bound

5/1/2013 Alum Daniel A. Price, selected as a 2013 Rhodes Scholar, shares his future plans for Oxford and beyond.

PiE wins $25,000 for hosting high school robotics competition

4/24/2013 Daily Cal - Pioneers in Engineering, a Berkeley Engineering student group, has won $25,000 in the Zipcar Students with Drive contest for reaching out to underprivileged high schools and promoting education in science, technology and engineering through a robotics competition.

EECS alumni Micali and Goldwasser win Turing Award

3/18/2013 Association for Computing Machinery - Ph.D. EECS alumni Silvio Micali and Shafi Goldwasser have been named winners of the ACM Turing Award, considered the Nobel Prize of computer science. The two, both now computer science professors at MIT, pioneered the field of provable security, which laid the mathematical foundations that made modern cryptography possible.