Honors & awards

Gadgil's inventions win him spot in hall of fame

Ashok Gadgil with his Berkeley-Darfur stove

3/4/2014 National Inventors Hall of Fame - Ashok Gadgil, professor of civil and environmental engineering, had been inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame. Gadgil was honored for two inventions that have helped millions of people in remote areas: UV Waterworks, a low-powered water disinfection system that uses UV light to kill pathogens, and the Berkeley-Darfur Stove, which reduces fuel demands of those in displacement camps.

Pinning down malevolent cancer cells

Lydia Sohn and her research

2/7/2014 Berkeley Research - Lydia Sohn, associate professor of mechanical engineering, is analyzing circulating tumor cells in the bloodstream of breast cancer patients, aiming to find new methods for early diagnosis and treatment of the disease. Her work has earned her recognition as one of five new Bakar Fellows on the Berkeley campus.

NAE adds three Berkeley faculty to its ranks

Carlos Daganzo, J. Karl Hedrick and Jack Moehle

2/6/2014 - Three Berkeley Engineering faculty — Carlos Daganzo (CEE), J. Karl Hedrick (ME) and Jack Moehle (CEE) — are among 67 new members and 11 foreign associates elected Thursday to the National Academy of Engineering.

BioE's Herr and Li are new AIMBE Fellows

Amy Herr and Song Li

2/6/2014 - Bioengineering professors Amy Herr and Song Li have been named members of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows. The college is composed of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country.

Kumar and Murthy get Keck grant for cancer cell research

Sanjay Kumar and Niren Murthy

1/10/2014 - Bioengineering professors Sanjay Kumar and Niren Murthy have been granted a $500,000 research award from the W.M. Keck Foundation for their research, which aims to develop an assay platform that will allow researchers to routinely perform single-cell proteomic experiments.

Two Berkeley engineers win presidential early-career awards

12/23/2013 White House Press Office - Four young Berkeley professors – including Benjamin Recht of electrical engineering and computer science and Junqiao Wu of materials science and engineering – were among 102 researchers named Monday by President Obama as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers.

David Culler to receive the Okawa Prize, 2013

12/5/2013 CITRIS - EECS Department Chair and Director of the CITRIS Energy Initiative David Culler has been selected as a recipient of the 2013 Okawa Prize, which is awarded annually by the Okawa Foundation for Information and Telecommunications.

George Leitmann receives French Legion of Honor

11/19/2013 - George Leitmann, professor of the Graduate School and professor emeritus of Engineering Science, has been awarded Knight of the Legion of Honor, France’s highest tribute recognizing military and civil service on behalf of the French nation.