Honors & awards

Water researcher David Sedlak wins 2014 Clarke Prize

David Sedlak

6/13/2014 National Water Research Institute - The National Water Research Institute has named David Sedlak, Berkeley professor of civil and environmental engineering, as the 21st recipient of its Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for his pioneering research on advancing the way water resources and urban water infrastructure are managed.

Bioengineer Jay Keasling wins renewable energy prize

6/9/2014 Joint BioEnergy Institute - Jay Keasling, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and bioengineering and CEO of JBEI, has won the 2014 Renewable Energy Prize portion of the prestigious Eni Awards for his achievements in “the microbial production of hydrocarbon fuels.”

Named lecture series honors pioneer Ruzena Bajcsy

Ruzena Bajcsy

6/6/2014 Technische Universität Darmstadt - The new Ruzena Bajcsy Lectures on Communications at TU Darmstadt honors one of the first women researchers in electrical engineering and computer sciences and a role model for women scientists and engineers worldwide. The lecture series invites leading women researchers to Darmstadt. Bajcsy’s work in EECS focuses on tele-immersive environments, image processing and robotics.

Four Berkeley Engineering faculty among new Bakar Fellows

Bakar fellows Ana Claidia Arias, John Dueber, Shawn Shadden and Laura Waller

5/27/2014 Berkeley Research - The Bakar Fellows Program's new fellows for 2014-15 include Ana Claudia Arias (EECS), who is working to improve MRI hardware; John Dueber (bioengineering), who uses synthetic biology to improve green chemistry; Shawn Shadden (mechanical engineering), whose research integrates medical diagnostic imaging with computational modeling; and Laura Waller (EECS), who develops new methods for optical imaging as head of the Computational Imaging Lab.

Two Berkeley Engineers among medal finalists

University Medal finalists Brooke Liang and Robin Shah

5/13/2014 - Finalists for the 2014 University Medal, UC Berkeley's highest honor for graduating seniors, include Brooke Liang, a bioengineer from Ottawa, Canada, and Rohin Shah, an EECS major from Pune, India.

Cal Human-Powered Vehicle team mends, but does not brake

Cal human-powered vehicle crossing the finish line

5/1/2014 California magazine - Things were looking bleak for the Berkeley Engineering Human-Powered Vehicle team last weekend, and the timing couldn’t have been worse. Just a day before the big ASME regional race, their state-of-the-art vehicle, nicknamed Reuben, crashed and broke in two on the first practice run. Then came a bigger surprise.

Bin Yu of EECS among five new NAS members

Bin Yu

4/29/2014 - Bin Yu, a Chancellor’s Professor in the departments of electrical engineering and computer science and of statistics, is one of five UC Berkeley professors newly elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences. Yu works on statistical machine learning theory, methodologies, and algorithms for solving high-dimensional data problems.