Honors & awards

ME alumna Tami Bond receives MacArthur ‘genius grant’

Tami Bond in the lab

9/19/2014 Daily Californian - Tami Bond (M.S.'95 ME), a civil and environmental engineering professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, was named a MacArthur Fellow on Wednesday for her research on the effects of black carbon emission and atmospheric pollution on global climate and human health.

8 grad students named Siebel Scholars

9/11/2014 Siebel Scholars Foundation - Eight Berkeley Engineering graduate students — five from bioengineering and three from EECS — have been selected as Siebel Scholars for 2015, joining a class of 83 of the most talented students from the world’s leading graduate schools.

ITS grad students receive Eisenhower fellowships

Frank Proulx, Jesus Barajas and Lisa Rayle

8/29/2014 - Three Institute of Transportation Studies graduate students, Frank Proulx, Jesus Barajas and Lisa Rayle, have won coveted 2014 Dwight David Eisenhower Graduate Fellowships for their research in transportation planning.

Environmental faculty receive prestigious Obama-Singh Award

Kara Nelson, David Sedlak and Ashok Gadgil

8/29/2014 - Professors Kara Nelson, David Sedlak and Ashok Gadgil of civil and environmental engineering are among the Berkeley faculty selected for the prestigious Obama-Singh 21st Century Knowledge Initiative Award for 2014, which includes work on a sustainable water project in India.

Ramesh named associate director at Berkeley lab

8/29/2014 Berkeley Lab - Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Purnendu Chatterjee Endowed Chair in Energy Technologies and professor of materials science and engineering and physics, has been named to the new position of associate laboratory director for energy technologies at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

The graduate

Saddiq Nuru speaking at commencement

6/17/2014 - Saddiq Nuru, a recent graduate from the Fung Institute’s Master of Engineering program, reflects on his education, experience and ambitions. Nuru was chosen to deliver the graduate student address at this year’s College of Engineering commencement ceremony.