Honors & awards

NSF funds cyber-physical systems research

VeHICaL project approach graphic

9/6/2016 National Science Foundation - The NSF on Tuesday awarded $4.6 million to VeHICaL (Verified Human Interfaces, Control, and Learning for Semi-Autonomous Systems), a project led by by EECS professor Sanjit Seshia that seeks to "impact the way humans collaborate and interact with automation." Researchers include EECS professors Ruzena Bajcsy, Shankar Sastry, Bjoern Hartmann, Claire Tomlin, and Tom Griffiths.

Seven Berkeley engineers named top innovators under 35

Wei Gao and his sensor wristband, and Sergey Levine

8/23/2016 - Wei Gao, an EECS postdoc developing wearable sweat sensors to monitor health, and EECS assistant professor Sergey Levine, who helped pioneer “deep learning” for robots, are among seven Berkeley engineers on this year’s list of top innovators under 35, compiled by MIT Technology Review.

7 over 70: New thinking from older innovators

Ruzena Bajcsy and Michael Stonebreaker

8/23/2016 MIT Technology Review - A companion to Tech Review's annual 35 Innovators Under 35 list features seven innovators older than 70, including EECS professor Ruzena Bajcsy and EECS professor emeritus Michael Stonebraker, now at MIT.

ME's Yeung honored for ocean engineering achievements

Ronald Yeung's acceptance speech at the OOAE conference in Busan, Korea

8/9/2016 - Mechanical engineering professor Ronald Yeung received a lifetime achievement award from ASME's Ocean, Offshore & Arctic Engineering Division, honoring his “contributions to the fields of hydromechanics and ocean engineering as a distinguished scholar.”

Tsu-Jae King Liu named to Intel board

Tsu-Jae King Liu

7/12/2016 Fortune - Intel has added Berkeley Engineering associate dean and EECS professor Tsu-Jae King Liu to its board of directors, marking just the second woman on the chipmaker’s governing body.

President Obama awards national medals to Alivisatos, Hu

Chenming Hu with President Obama

5/20/2016 - President Barack Obama honored two UC Berkeley faculty members at the White House, awarding chemist Paul Alivisatos with the National Medal of Science and electrical engineer Chenming Hu with the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

MOOC pioneer Armando Fox cited for leadership in education

Armando Fox

5/5/2016 Association for Computing Machinery - EECS professor Armando Fox, a trailblazer in technology-enhanced education and the Massive Online Open Courses field, has been selected to receive the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award from the Association for Computing Machinery.