Honors & awards

Two faculty named top innovators

Grace Gu and Raluca Ada Popa

10/25/2019 Grace Gu and Raluca Ada Popa were included in MIT Technology Review’s 2019 list of “35 Innovators Under 35.”

Streets named Pew Scholar

Aaron Streets

10/25/2019 Professor Aaron Streets is joining the 2019 Pew Scholars Program in Biomedical Sciences.

Alum honored as MEMS pioneer

10/25/2019 Kurt Peterson was awarded the 2019 IEEE Medal of Honor for his contributions to microelectromechanical systems research.

New & noteworthy

10/25/2019 Class notes and other updates about Berkeley Engineering alumni and faculty.

Eight Berkeley engineers honored as Siebel Scholars

9/25/2019 - Eight Berkeley Engineering graduate students — five from bioengineering, two from computer science and one from energy science — have been named to the Siebel Scholars Foundation’s 2020 class.

Berkeley Engineering is #3 in U.S. News rankings

Engineering students pose with Oski

9/9/2019 U.S. News & World Report - Berkeley Engineering's undergraduate program was again ranked third overall and the top public engineering school by U.S. News & World Report. Eight individual engineering programs were ranked among the top 5 in their respective fields, and all were in the top 10.

NSF awards $5M to increase public cloud access to research

8/9/2019 - The National Science Foundation has awarded $5 million to researchers from UC Berkeley, UC San Diego, and the University of Washington to develop CloudBank, a suite of managed services to remove barriers to public cloud access for data science and computer science research and education.