Faculty honors and awards

Berkeley Engineering faculty receive the most prestigious awards and honors bestowed by academic and professional societies, foundations and other civic organizations. Among these are the 78 active and emeriti faculty who hold membership in the National Academy of Engineering.

158 results

  • Two engineering faculty named Sloan Research Fellows

    2/12/2020 - Sanjam Garg, an assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences (EECS), and Aditya Parameswaran, who has a joint appointment in EECS and the School of Information, were among nine Berkeley faculty members to win the prestigious research honor.

  • Head shots of Per Peterson and Paulo Monteiro
    Two Berkeley Engineering professors named to NAE

    2/6/2020 - Per Peterson and Paulo Monteiro are among 78 Berkeley Engineering faculty members in the National Academy of Engineering.

  • Tarek Zohdi
    Tarek Zohdi named 2019 AAM Fellow

    1/2/2020 American Academy of Mechanics - Tarek Zohdi, professor of mechanical engineering, has been named the 2019 Fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics, an honor accorded to only one person per year in the country.

  • IEEE Mefdal of Honor winner Chenming Hu
    Chenming Hu awarded IEEE Medal of Honor

    12/6/2019 IEEE - The electrical engineering and computer sciences professor emeritus was recognized for his distinguished work with semiconductor models, particularly 3D device structures.

  • Rebecca Abergel and David Schaffer
    Abergel, Schaffer named to AAAS

    11/26/2019 - Rebecca Abergel, assistant professor of nuclear engineering, and David Schaffer, professor of bioengineering and of chemical and biomolecular engineering, are among five Berkeley faculty members named new fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

  • Aaron Streets
    Streets named Pew Scholar

    10/25/2019 - Professor Aaron Streets is joining the 2019 Pew Scholars Program in Biomedical Sciences.

  • New & noteworthy

    10/25/2019 - Class notes and other updates about Berkeley Engineering alumni and faculty.

  • Grace Gu and Raluca Ada Popa
    Two faculty named top innovators

    10/25/2019 - Grace Gu and Raluca Ada Popa were included in MIT Technology Review’s 2019 list of “35 Innovators Under 35.”

  • Alum honored as MEMS pioneer

    10/25/2019 - Kurt Peterson was awarded the 2019 IEEE Medal of Honor for his contributions to microelectromechanical systems research.

  • Bakar Fellows
    New Bakar Fellows are already having an impact

    9/5/2019 - Three Berkeley Engineering professors have been named 2019–20 Bakar Fellows: Niren Murthy (BioE), Raluca Ada Popa (EECS) and Kenichi Soga (CEE).