Honors for three Berkeley Engineering faculty

Three members of the Berkeley Engineering faculty have received recent awards from scientific societies honoring their contributions to research and innovation in their fields.

Grace O'ConnellMechanical engineering assistant professor Grace O'Connell has received a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation as a part of the NSF's Faculty Early Career Development Program. The $500,000 award will support O'Connell's research using magnetic resonance imaging to study the mechanical failure of spinal disc tissue.

Laura WallerLaura Waller, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, received an Early Career Achievement Award from the International Society for Optics and Photonics. Waller, who heads the Computational Imaging Lab, was recognized for "her contributions to biomedical and industrial science through development of computational imaging hardware and software."

Avideh ZakhorEECS professor Avideh Zakhor was named 2018 Electronic Imaging Scientist of the Year by the Society for Imaging Science and Technology.  She was cited “for her significant contributions to signal processing, including 3D image processing & computer vision, 3D reality capture systems,  3D modeling, mapping and positioning,  image and video compression and communication.” 


Topics: Berkeley Engineering in the News, EECS, Mechanical engineering, Faculty, Honors & awards