Faculty honors and awards

Berkeley Engineering faculty receive the most prestigious awards and honors bestowed by academic and professional societies, foundations and other civic organizations. Among these are the 73 active and emeriti faculty who hold membership in the National Academy of Engineering.

101 results

  • Oscar Dubon at awards ceremony
    Dubón honored for enhancing campus diversity

    1/6/2017 - Oscar Dubón, MSE professor and the college's associate dean for student affairs and equity & inclusion, has been selected as the winner of UC Berkeley's 2016 Chancellor's Award for Advancing Institutional Excellence and Equity.

  • Michael Jordan at the whiteboard
    "Who is the Michael Jordan of computer science?"

    11/1/2016 - An April article in the magazine Science identifies Berkeley computer science professor Michael Jordan as the world’s most influential computer scientist.

  • 2 professors among the "7 over 70"

    11/1/2016 - A companion to Tech Review's annual 35 Innovators Under 35 list features a list of seven innovators over 70. The new list includes electrical engineering and computer sciences (EECS) professor Ruzena Bajcsy and professor emeritus Michael Stonebraker, now at MIT.

  • Michael Yartsev and Egyptian rousette bats
    $1.5 million to study language development, via bats

    10/26/2016 - Seeking insight into the neurobiological basis of language learning, the New York Stem Cell Foundation has granted a $1.5 million Robertson Neuroscience Investigator award to Michael Yartsev, assistant professor of bioengineering, for his novel studies involving bats.

  • EECS professors Tsu-Jae King Liu and Claire Tomlin, and alumna Vidya Ganapati
    3 from EECS win CITRIS Athena Awards

    9/29/2016 CITRIS - EECS professors Tsu-Jae King Liu and Claire Tomlin, and alumna Vidya Ganapati (M.S.'12, Ph.D.'15) , are among the inaugural winners of the CITRIS Athena Awards, recognizing the accomplishments of technology leaders and organizations fostering interest in computer science for the next generation of women and girls.

  • Fiona Doyle
    Fiona Doyle wins SME metallurgy award

    9/21/2016 - MSE professor Fiona Doyle, dean of the Graduate Division, has been selected by the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration as the 2016 recipient of the Milton E. Wadsworth Award, which recognizes distinguished contributions that advance understanding of the science and technology of non-ferrous chemical metallurgy.

  • VeHICaL project approach graphic
    NSF funds cyber-physical systems research

    9/6/2016 National Science Foundation - The NSF on Tuesday awarded $4.6 million to VeHICaL (Verified Human Interfaces, Control, and Learning for Semi-Autonomous Systems), a project led by by EECS professor Sanjit Seshia that seeks to "impact the way humans collaborate and interact with automation." Researchers include EECS professors Ruzena Bajcsy, Shankar Sastry, Bjoern Hartmann, Claire Tomlin, and Tom Griffiths.

  • Wei Gao and his sensor wristband, and Sergey Levine
    Seven Berkeley engineers named top innovators under 35

    8/23/2016 - Wei Gao, an EECS postdoc developing wearable sweat sensors to monitor health, and EECS assistant professor Sergey Levine, who helped pioneer “deep learning” for robots, are among seven Berkeley engineers on this year’s list of top innovators under 35, compiled by MIT Technology Review.

  • Ruzena Bajcsy and Michael Stonebreaker
    7 over 70: New thinking from older innovators

    8/23/2016 MIT Technology Review - A companion to Tech Review's annual 35 Innovators Under 35 list features seven innovators older than 70, including EECS professor Ruzena Bajcsy and EECS professor emeritus Michael Stonebraker, now at MIT.

  • Ronald Yeung's acceptance speech at the OOAE conference in Busan, Korea
    ME's Yeung honored for ocean engineering achievements

    8/9/2016 - Mechanical engineering professor Ronald Yeung received a lifetime achievement award from ASME's Ocean, Offshore & Arctic Engineering Division, honoring his “contributions to the fields of hydromechanics and ocean engineering as a distinguished scholar.”