Engineering Advisory Board

The Berkeley Engineering Advisory Board is composed of successful alumni, tech pioneers, industry leaders and creative visionaries. The board advances our academic and research excellence by:

  • strengthening relationships with our partners in academia, industry and government;
  • shaping new research agendas;
  • envisioning new educational initiatives;
  • developing fellowships, endowed chairs and other forms of student and faculty support; and
  • creating sustainable funding models, among other efforts.

Engineering Advisory Board 2015-16

Paul E. JacobsPaul E. Jacobs, Chairman, B.S.’84, M.S.’86, Ph.D.’89 EECS
Executive Chairman
Qualcomm Incorporated

Dean S. Shankar SastryS. Shankar Sastry, M.S.’79, Ph.D.’81 EECS, M.S.’80 Mathematics
Dean and Carlson Professor
College of Engineering, UC Berkeley

Dado BanataoDado Banatao
Managing Partner
Tallwood Venture Capital

Carl BassCarl Bass
President and CEO
Autodesk, Inc.

Purnendu ChatterjeePurnendu Chatterjee, M.S.’72, Ph.D.’74 IEOR
Founder and Chairman
The Chatterjee Group

Wenchi ChenWenchi Chen
President and CEO
VIA Technologies, Inc.

Dipanjan DebDipanjan Deb, B.S.’91 EECS
Co-founder and CEO
Francisco Partners

Stephanie DiMarcoStephanie DiMarco, B.S.’79 Business Administration
Founder and Strategic Advisor
Advent Software, Inc.

William S. Floyd, Jr.William S. Floyd, Jr., B.S.’56 IE
Vice President and Director (retired)
Sierra Chemical Company

Coleman FungColeman Fung, B.S.’87 IEOR
Founder and Chairman of the Board
OpenLink Financial LLC

Charles GiancarloCharles Giancarlo, M.S.’80 EECS
Senior Executive and Chairman

Paul R. GrayPaul R. Gray
Professor Emeritus, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Emeritus
UC Berkeley

Diane B. GreeneDiane B. Greene, M.S.’88 EECS
Senior Vice President, Google
Co-founder, VMware, Inc.

Michael GrimesMichael Grimes, B.S.’87 EECS
Managing Director
Morgan Stanley

Kirk HachigianKirk Hachigian, B.S.’82 Manufacturing Engineering
President and CEO

Deirdre HanfordDeirdre Hanford, M.S.’85 EECS
Executive Vice President, Customer Engagement
Synopsys, Inc.

E. Floyd KvammeE. Floyd Kvamme, B.S.’59 EE
Partner Emeritus
Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

James K. LauJames K. Lau, B.A.’81 Applied Math and Computer Science

Bertram H. LubinBertram H. Lubin
President and CEO
UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland

Sanjay MehrotraSanjay Mehrotra, B.S.’78, M.S.’80 EECS
Co-founder, President and CEO

Edward PenhoetEdward Penhoet
Co-founder, Chiron
Partner, Alta Ventures

Kim K. PoleseKim K. Polese, B.S.’84 Biophysics
Board Chair

In Sik RheeIn Sik Rhee, B.S.’93 EECS
General Partner
Vertex Ventures

William RuhWilliam Ruh
SVP and Chief Digital Officer, GE 
CEO, GE Digital

Arun SarinArun Sarin, M.S.’78 MSE, M.B.A.’78
Board Member
Accenture, Cisco, Charles Schwab

Eric SchmidtEric Schmidt, M.S.’79, Ph.D.’82 EECS
Executive Chairman
Alphabet, Inc.

Harry ShumHarry Shum
Executive Vice President, Technology and Research
Microsoft Corporation

Thomas SiebelThomas Siebel
Founder, Chairman and CEO
C3 Energy

Darlene SolomonDarlene J.S. Solomon
Senior VP  and CTO, Life Sciences and Diagnostics Labs
Agilent Technologies

A.N. SreeramA.N. Sreeram
Sr. Vice President, Research & Development 
and Chief Technology Officer
Dow Chemical Co.

Roger StrauchRoger Strauch
Chairman and Co-founder
The Roda Group

Sehat SutardjaSehat Sutardja, M.S.’85, Ph.D.’88 EECS
Marvell Semiconductor, Inc.

Kirsi K. TikkaKirsi K. Tikka, M.S.’84, Ph.D.’89 Naval Architecture
President and COO
ABS Europe Division

Robert TjianRobert Tjian, B.S.’71 Biochemistry
Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Steve WozniakSteve Wozniak, B.S.’86 EECS
Apple Computer