Leadership team

Berkeley Engineering is a community of visionaries, technology icons and industry pioneers — united in a public institution. We’re intellectual leaders with real-world experience, creative thinkers who are shaping public policy. And we’re committed to training the next generation of innovators.


S. Shankar Sastry
Dean, College of Engineering

Per Peterson
Executive Associate Dean

Jeffrey Bokor
Associate Dean, Research

Constance Chang-Hasnain
Associate Dean, Strategic Alliances

Oscar D. Dubon
Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Associate Dean, Equity and Inclusion

Phil Kaminsky
Associate Dean, Academic Planning and Development

George Leitmann
Special Adviser to the Dean

Masayoshi Tomizuka
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Eric Fraser
Assistant Dean and Director of IT

Dat Le
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance

Melissa Nidever
Assistant Dean, College Relations

Scott Shackleton
Assistant Dean, Facilities and Capital Projects

Anthony St. George
Assistant Dean, International Partnerships, and Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations

Department chairs

Daniel Fletcher

Robert Harley
Civil & Environmental Engineering

Jitendra MalikJitendra Malik
Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences

Ana Claudia Arias
Engineering Science

Mark Asta
Materials Science & Engineering

Ken Goldberg
Industrial Engineering & Operations Research

Roberto Horowitz
Mechanical Engineering

Karl van Bibber
Nuclear Engineering